About Scholastic

Organized by The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards were established in the early 1920’s to encourage, foster and reward creativity in our nation’s classrooms. It is the largest, longest- running and most prestigious student recognition program in America.

Throughout its 90-year history, the Scholastic program has provided early recognition to some of our nation’s most celebrated artists and writers, including Richard Avedon, Harry Bertoia, Mel Bochner, Truman Capote, Red Groom, Robert Indiana, Joyce Maynard, Joyce Carol Oates and Robert Redford. Internationally recognized artists with a Colorado connection include Quang Ho, Dale Chisman, Mel Silverman, Donald Lipski and Hugh Grant.

Each year, students in grades 7-12 have the opportunity to participate in The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. They attend public, private and parochial schools throughout the U.S. and its territories, American-run schools abroad, home-school programs and community organizations providing art and writing programs.

The process begins across the country as young artists submit more than 200,000 creative works of art to a network of affiliate Alliance programs. These local corporations, libraries, colleges, museums, galleries, newspapers, private foundations, local cultural alliances and arts councils share the Alliance’s vision to inspire the next generation of artists.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s